Oscars 2018: Roger Deakins finally wins Cinematography Award for Blade Runner 2049 after 14 nominations


It finally happened. 

14 nominations in, and legendary cinematographer Roger Deakins has finally won an Academy Award. In a career that’s spanned over 40 years, he’s helped make the likes of The Shawshank Redemption, Fargo, No Country For Old Men, Skyfall, and Sicario films that have forever been burned into our minds.

His win, however, came for Denis Villeneuve’s return to Ridley Scott’s groundbreaking sci-fi world in Blade Runner 2049; perfectly recapturing those unnerving, techno-futuristic delights in a way that can still resonate today.

“I really love my job. I have been doing it a long time as you can see,” Deakins said in his acceptance speech. “One of the reasons I really love it is because of the people I work with in front of and behind the camera.”

Deakins’ fellow nominees were Darkest Hour‘s Bruno Delbonnel, Dunkirk’s Hoyte van Hoytema, The Shape of Water’s Dan Laustsen, and Mudbound’s Rachel Morrison. Morrison was the first female cinematographer to ever earn a nomination at the Academy Awards. 

Follow all the live coverage from the ceremony here. 

Follow Independent Culture on Facebook for all the latest on Film, TV, Music, and more.